{buyer beware} Is Stevia a Healthy Alternative Sweetener? The Truth About Truvia, Stevia in the Raw, and Other Stevia Products

I was just informed last week that I needed to re-investigate Stevia. I don’t use it daily… I rely on more natural sweeteners like honey or maple or agave. I am ok with using stevia, as I purchase the natural version. Go me!

-She

Fabulously Domestic

The stevia plant is known for being 300 times sweeter than cane sugar and has been used for centuries. This natural sweetener has no calories and no glycemic index, making it a popular alternative sweetener for diabetics and health-minded individuals.

But is it actually good for you?!

The few studies which claimed stevia had harmful side effects have been refuted by more recent research and many countries throughout the world (in particular, the very healthy country of Japan) have used stevia for hundreds of years. I have no problem recommending stevia to people who are looking for alternative sweeteners but with two caveats:

First off, as I say with all food, eating the same thing every day is never a good idea so I wouldn’t recommend having stevia daily. But perhaps the most important thing to remember is:

Not All Stevia is Created Equal

For instance, take the mass-marketed stevia…

View original post 547 more words

One thought on “{buyer beware} Is Stevia a Healthy Alternative Sweetener? The Truth About Truvia, Stevia in the Raw, and Other Stevia Products

  1. Thanks for the reblog! I’m glad you’re using the right kind of stevia, too! There really isn’t any credible science proving that this ancient sweetener (when in it’s original form) is harmful.

Leave a Reply

