Small Victories

If you’re my friend on Facebook, you know about one small victory I’ve had this week.  

I posted about how I typically cringe when I have to wear freshly washed clothing.  Not because I hate the smell of my laundry detergent … I actually LOVE IT!  Because I hate how my clothes seem to shrink in the dryer.  I prefer my jeans after the first wearing…when they’re stretched out and comfy.  However… I put my freshly laundered pants on and GUESS WHAT… they fit comfortably!   SCORE!!!

Here’s another small victory for me this week:

Today was a co-worker’s 21st birthday.  The ‘treat’ for the day was an Oreo Ice Cream log.  **If you know me…at all… you know that my two most FAVORITE sweets are Oreos and Ice Cream… together??  Hallelujah!**   They celebrated her birthday at 11am.  I decided that if I was going to indulge, I would need to wait until after lunch.  I wasn’t going to crash my blood sugar with a treat an hour before lunch.   

Well, After lunch I wasn’t hungry for it.  I decided to wait until after my M4 (or afternoon snack) of a Greek Yogurt.   I have decided (upon finishing my yogurt) that I don’t even want the stupid Ice cream anymore… why?  Because I know that it’s not going to taste as good as I’ve built it up in my head and I’m going to be disappointed.   

So, essentially, I tricked myself into not wanting the ice cream… but I’m ok with that.  I’m kicking these sugar cravings to the curb… for once and for all.  I a in love right now with spicy teas.  (Cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger…. not red pepper!!!) and I add a little stevia to them.  That’s all the sweetness my sweet tooth desires.   Trickery, baby, trickery.  🙂   

As a ‘reward’ for doing such a great job today.  I think I might just try the blogilates ice cream sandwich recipe.  I mean, It’s made of oats and bananas, how bad can it be?   🙂  Seems like a fitting dupe to my treat I passed up today.   Here’s the LINK to the recipe for the ice cream sandwich.  

 

-She

2 thoughts on “Small Victories

  1. Awesome victories! I often make myself wait a few hours before indulging and find the craving passes and I feel so much better! If it doesn’t, then I know that I must really want that thing and should probably just have it before I binge! 😉

    If you like spicy teas, you should try the Good Earth Sweet n’ Spicy tea — I reviewed it a while back and it was my favorite tea for a long time! Tastes like hot tamales candy! http://fabulouslydomestic.com/2011/08/11/sweet-and-spicy/

Leave a Reply

